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Judge Robert N. Rusu, Jr.

As Probate Court Judge, my
goal is to serve the public in
the most efficient and
courteous manner possible. |
am providing this brochure to

' help with any possible

questions or concerns you
may have while working with
the Probate Court. | hope you
find this information helpful.

HOURS & LOCATIONS

Mahoning County Probate Court
120 Market Street

Youngstown, OH 44503

Phone: 330-740-2310

Fax: 330-740-2325

Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 AM-4:30

BE SURE TO VISIT OUR WEBSITE
mahoningcountyoh.gov/probate
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The information in this pamphlet is provided as a
service of the court and does not constitute legal
advice which can only be given to you by an
attorney. Many probate and family law matters
involve complex and valuable legal rights. You
should always speak with an attorney before filing
any papers.

Mahoning County Probate Court
Robert N. Rusu, Jr., Judge

Reprinted with permission from Hamilton County
Probate Court. Copyright © 2011 Hamilton
County Probate Court. All Rights Reserved

Robert N. Rusu, Jr, Judge
Mahoning County Probate Court

Car Transfers
Upon Death of Owner

Informational Guide
About Car Transfers



TRANSFERRING A CARTITLE AFTER
A PERSON HAS DIED

Transfer to a Spouse

When a spouse survives the death of the other
spouse, the surviving spouse is permitted to
transfer titles for up to two cars. The value of the
two cars transferred may not exceed $40,000. This
does not apply to cars that are jointly owned or
that have been disposed of in the Will of the
deceased spouse. To transfer the cars, a Surviving
Spouse Affidavit, the original car titles, and a death
certificate must be presented to the Mahoning
County Clerk of Courts Automobile Title
Department A copy of the necessary affidavit can
be obtained in the Mahoning County Clerk of
Courts Automobile Title Department. The
Surviving Spouse Affidavit requires the affiant to list
the value of the car, it's year, make, model, and
body type, the manufacturer identification
number and it's Ohio Certificate of Title number.
Any lien against the car is not affected by the
transfer. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles will issue a
certificate of registration in the name of the
surviving spouse. With the title and registration
now in the surviving spouse’s name, the original
license plates may remain on the vehicle and are
the responsibility of the surviving spouse. The cars
transferred via a Surviving Spouse Affidavit are not
considered estate assets and are not included in
the estate inventory.

ALLOWANCE FOR SUPPORT

Under Ohio law, if a person dies lea vinga
surviving spouse, the surviving spouse is
entitled to receive money or property valued up
to $40,000 for what is characterized as an
allowance of support. The surviving spouse may
select two cars valued up to $40,000. If two cars
are chosen, the allowance of support is reduced
by the value of the car having the lower value of
the two cars selected.

Transfer Pursuant To A Will

If the deceased left a will, the fiduciary
appointed by the court will handle the transfer of
the title of the car to the beneficiary designated to
receive it in the Will. Mahoning County Probate
Court Form MC 4.1 Application For Transfer Of
Motor Vehicle is used in this instance. The fiduciary
provides a filed stamped and certified copy of the
Application For Transfer Of Motor Vehicle to the
beneficiary designated in the Will, who may then
take the form to any of the Bureau of Motor
Vehicles Office to complete the transfer process.
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Transfer When the Deceased Has A
Surviving Spouse And There Are More
Than Two Cars

When a person dies leaving a surviving spouse
and solely owns more than two cars, the
additional cars must be administered through the
Probate Court using one of two different probate
procedures. If the value of the additional cars and
other probate assets do not exceed $100,000 and
the surviving spouse is entitled to receive the
entire estate, a Relief From Administration may be
used. If the total value of the estate assets exceed
$100,000, a Full Administration must be used.

Transfer When The Deceased Did Not Leave
A Will And Has No Surviving Spouse

If a person dies without a will and has no
spouse, his or her next of kin will be entitled to the
car. If the value of the vehicle and other probate
assets does not exceed $35,000, the vehicle can be
transferred with a Relief From Administration. The
heir should take a copy of the Court Entry, with a
complete description of the vehicle and the original
certificate of car title, to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles
to transfer the car into the heir's name. If the value
of the car exceeds $35,000 or if the total value of
the car and other property in the Estate exceeds
$35,000, a Full Administration must be filed. In this
latter situation, it is strongly suggested that an
attorney be consulted.

Transfer When A Person Has Paid The
Funeral Bill Or Is Obligated To Pay The
Funeral Bill

A Summary Release From Administration can
be used to transfer a car to a person who is
responsible to pay for the funeral of the decedent
and the cost of the funeral equals or exceeds the
value of the car. However, to use this procedure, the
value of the car cannot exceed $5,000 unless the
person that desires the transfer is the surviving
spouse in which case the value of the car cannot
exceed $45,000.

Transfer When Car Is Titled In Two Or More
Owners’ Names With Right Of Survivorship

If a car is titled in joint names with a right of
survivorship, the signatures of all the owners are
required to transfer the car if they are living.
However, if one of the owners is deceased, the
surviving owner(s) may apply for a new certificate of
title removing the deceased joint owner’s name by
presenting proof of the joint owner’s death and
completing the reverse side of the certificate of title.
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