Show All Answers
Unfortunately not…this grant is targeted for Mahoning County with the exclusion of of Youngstown.
There are other grants that cover Youngstown. Youngstown would fall under the jurisdiction of Youngstown Neighborhood Development Corp (YNDC), there phone number is 330-480-0423.
Answer goes here.
If you answer yes to all of the following questions, you may qualify for the Homestead Exemption program for Tax Year 2024 collected in Calendar Year 2025:
- Will you own and occupy the homestead as the applicant’s domicile on January 1, 2024?
- Will you reach age 65 during calendar year 2024?
- Will you be certified totally and permanently disabled as of January 1, 2024, regardless of age?
- Will you be a surviving spouse of a qualified homeowner who was receiving the Homestead Exemption at the time of death, and who was at least 59 years of age on the date of their spouse’s death?
- In calendar year 2023, will your income be $38,600 or less on your Ohio Income Tax Return (Line 3)? (Includes both the applicant and the applicant’s spouse’s combined incomes).
If you answer yes to all of the following questions, you may qualify for the Homestead Exemption program for Tax Year 2023 collected in Calendar Year 2024:
- Will you own and occupy the homestead as the applicant’s domicile on January 1, 2023?
- Will you reach age 65 during calendar year 2023?
- Will you be certified totally and permanently disabled as of January 1, 2023, regardless of age?
- In calendar year 2022, will your income be $36,100 or less on your Ohio Income Tax Return (Line 3)? (Includes both the applicant and the applicant’s spouse’s combined incomes).
If you answer yes to all of the following questions, you may qualify for the Homestead Exemption program for Tax Year 2022:
- Did you own and occupy the homestead as the applicant’s domicile on January 1, 2022?
- Are you at least 65 years of age or will reach age 65 during calendar year 2022?
- Are you certified totally and permanently disabled as of January 1, 2022, regardless of age?
- Are you a surviving spouse of a qualified homeowner who was receiving the Homestead Exemption at the time of death, and who was at least 59 years of age on the date of their spouse’s death?
- In calendar year 2021, was your income $34,600 or less as stated on your Ohio Income Tax Return (Line 3)? (Includes both the applicant and the applicant’s spouse’s combined incomes).
The values on soil types are determined by the Ohio Department of Taxation and given to all counties in the State of Ohio. The CAUV soil rates are updated every 3 years. An update occurred in Tax Year 2023, collected in 2024. The next update will be for Tax Year 2026 collected in 2027. You cannot protest the CAUV values. You do have the option to appeal your property’s market value by filing a Board of Revision Complaint Against the Valuation of Property.
The primary purpose of a revaluation is to provide equalization between all property owners as well as between all classes of property. Ohio law requires a revaluation to be completed every six years. Please visit the Reappraisal page for more information.
Under the direction of the Ohio Department of Taxation, the Mahoning County Auditor must review and reappraise all property in Mahoning County every six year even if you did not improve or sell your property. The objective is to appraise all properties at Fair Market Values, which is the price a willing seller would receive from a willing buyer. Your property is an investment of which the value of such investment changes over time as supply and demand change in the real estate market.
No. Passed in 1976, the Ohio legislature enacted property reform known as House Bill 920. Its purpose was to keep inflation from increasing voted taxes. When property values increase due to inflation, a reappraisal, or an update, House Bill 920 goes into effect. The voted, or full millage, is lowered by the Ohio Department of Taxation resulting in a lower effective tax rate. The opposite is also true when property values decrease due to a reappraisal or an update. House Bill 920 again goes into effect. The voted, or full millage, is increased by the Ohio Department of Taxation resulting in a higher effective tax rate. The only increased revenue taxing districts receive from voted levies is from the added value of new construction.
If you do not believe you could sell your property on the open market for the amount of the county appraisal, you can appeal your value by filing a Complaint Against the Valuation of Real Property. This form can be found on the Auditor’s webpage or you can call the Auditor’s Office at 330-740-2010 to request the form by mail. Appeals may be submitted by mail or in person to the Auditor’s Office in the County Courthouse Building between January 2 and March 31 each year. Filing this form will formally initiate the appeal process with the Mahoning County Board of Revision. Detailed information regarding the appeal process and the Board of Revision can be found here.
The deadline for tax year 2022 was Friday March 31, 2023
Complaints Against the Valuation of Real Property for tax year 2023 must be filed and received on or before March 31, 2024 in the Mahoning County Auditor’s Office, which is located at:
Mahoning County Courthouse120 Market StreetYoungstown, OH 44503
This formal complaint period will not open until January 1, 2024.
Auditor’s Property Search Instruction
New addresses are provided by your local zoning office (see below). If you live in a municipality without a zoning office, Please contact the Emergency Management Agency for assistance at 1-330-740-2200. 700 Industrial Rd, Youngstown, OH 44509
Zoning Contact List
View State of Ohio CAUV FAQs and Tables https://tax.ohio.gov/government/real-state/cauv
Please view the 2023 Values Information presentation here.
Example: An obligor is ordered to pay $100 for child support x 2% = $2(So, $100 + $2 = $102 per month)
Remember: Child support payments are now processed through Ohio Child Support Payment Central in Columbus, Ohio. The check will go to Columbus first, then processed to you.
For the most part, current child support and child support arrears are paid before other obligations. Spousal support and associated arrears are paid next. Medical orders usually come next. After all of the above are paid, other obligations are paid such as paternity testing fee, attorney fees, clothing and day care costs or other special payments. Finally, current and past administrative fees are paid.
OBES will only be used to pay current child support.
Court orders may affect allocations, the most common occurrence being payments received from the Ohio Bureau of Workers Compensation (OBWC). Attorney’s representing non-custodial parents may receive a worker’s compensation settlement often to obtain a court order for payment of their fees from the settlement.
When a withholding order is first issued, the income provider or employer has 14 days from the date the CSEA issued the withholding notice to be making deductions from their payroll/income cycle. Once the cycle has been completed, the OCSPC has 7 days to receive payment.
You can obtain a license at the Dog Wardens Office, 1230 N. Meridian Road, Youngstown, Ohio, or the Auditors Office, Mahoning County Court House, Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Other agencies are also available throughout the County. Phone our office at 740-2205 for a complete listing.
Emotional support dogs and Therapy dogs are NOT eligible for Service Dog tags.
All service tag applications and licenses are processed through the Mahoning County Dog Warden. A license can be obtained by completing this application and can be brought to the Dog Warden’s office in person or it can be mailed. The Dog Warden’s address is 1230 N Meridian Rd # B, Youngstown, OH 44509.
The service dog application is permanent and free of charge. Before applying to ensure you qualify for this license, please make sure to read the Ohio Revised Code section 955.011 on service animals and the ADA policy on the differences between service animals and emotional support animals—those are included in the application document to review. Mahoning County will not issue a service dog license for an emotional support dog. Emotional support dogs must be licensed annually with the standard $20 fee.”
You need to obtain a license every year. All dogs 3 months of age and older must be licensed each year by February 29. Dogs acquired after February 29 must be licensed immediately to avoid penalties.
It's also dangerous for your dog to ran at large. Dogs are no match for cars. The dog owner is held responsible for both personal injury and property damage done by their dog. Back to the Dog Warden Page
* Court staff can provide you with the telephone number of a local lawyer referral service. There are lawyers who can help you. For more information, you may call the Mahoning County Bar Association at 330-746-2933 or Community Legal Aid at 1-800-309-5454. * Court staff can answer questions concerning how Domestic Relations Court works. Answers are limited to very basic responses, such as the Court’s hours of operation, hearing schedules, and the type of proceeding on the Court’s docket. * Court staff can provide general information about court rules and procedures. You may read the rules and procedures that pertain to the Court’s proceedings online or in the Law Library. * Court staff can review your papers or documentation for completeness through checking for such things as signatures, notarization where required, the correct court name, and case number.
* Court staff cannot answer your questions that require guidance concerning what you should do in your case. Only a lawyer can give you such advice.
* Court staff cannot advise you whether or not you should file your case in this Court or the steps necessary to take while in court, or to render an opinion about what may happen after your case is presented to this Court.
* Court staff cannot advise you concerning what you may say in court, other than simple procedural matters of courtesy such as addressing the Judge or a Magistrate as “your Honor”.
* Court staff cannot permit you to speak with the Judge or a Magistrate outside the courtroom. Court staff are not permitted to speak to the Judge or a Magistrate on your behalf concerning your case.
* Court staff cannot fill-out a form or pleading on your behalf, or advise you on what words to use in your documentation. Court staff may be able to provide a blank form for your use or direct you where to find such a form.
* Court staff cannot sign an Order or change an Order signed by the Judge or a Magistrate. Court staff are not permitted to explain the legal meaning or the effect of an Order to you.
Counterclaim for Divorce, Legal Separation, Annulment, Cross-Complaint, or Third Party Complaint: $150.00
Post-Judgment/Decree Motions: $100.00.
Petitions for Domestic Violence Civil Protection Orders: $0.00 Forms
1. Separation Agreement (attached to Petition) signed by both parties 2. Waiver of Service of Summons signed by both parties3. Affidavit of Legal Counsel signed by unrepresented party 4. Parenting Proceeding Affidavit (Uniform DR Form 3)(Required only if there are minor children)5. Affidavit of Income and Expenses (Uniform DR Form 1)6. Affidavit of Property (Uniform DR Form 2)7. Health Insurance Affidavit (Uniform DR Form 4)8. IV-D Application for Child Support Services9. Family Information Sheet
Real Estate: A copy of the deed containing the legal description of any property being transferred or to be sold should be provided. A copy of the Auditor's appraisal may be accepted as evidence of value.
Motor Vehicles: A copy of the title of any vehicle being transferred should be provided. A copy of the NADA or Kelly Blue Book values may be accepted as evidence of value.
Retirement Interests: Any pension or other retirement account should be professionally valued unless the parties are in agreement to divide the same without the necessity of valuation. Copies of the most recent account statements should be provided.
1. Summons and Order to Appear and Request for Court-Appointed Counsel 2. Explanation of Medical Bills (if the claim of contempt is for unpaid medical bills)
2) If you are summoned to appear in court on a charge for which you could be sent to jail (for example, contempt of court), the court may appoint an attorney for you.
For any questions regarding monumentation, please contact the Survey Department, at 330-799-1581.
No, the Geographic Information System (GIS) Office doesn’t have a list of land surveyors, nor do we recommend surveyors. The Mahoning County Conveyance Standards only require that the surveyor be licensed in the State of Ohio.
See our Curbside Pick-up Calendar, or call The Green Team at 330-740-2060 for specific information.
In many cases, yes! Look for your item(s) on our
The Crossover Youth family often has a history of criminal behavior, domestic violence, mental health issues and substance abuse problems. As a result, Crossover Youth often experience numerous placements outside of the home.
Overall, Crossover Youth appear to enter the system when they are young children (through abuse, neglect and dependency) and remain in the system into and sometimes throughout adolescence.
The research also shows that there is an overrepresentation of females and African-Americans in the Crossover Youth population
Representatives from Mahoning County Juvenile Court and Mahoning County Children Services Board, as well as other service providers such as schools, residential placement facilities, mental health providers, police departments, and drug abuse treatment providers have been meeting for over a year with representatives from Georgetown University to review current practices in Mahoning County and to create appropriate practices to implement the Crossover Youth model.
Yes…In order to qualify for our program, you may have to pay a portion of the cost to make it lead-safe. Based upon a $10,000 job, we would pay 100% of the first $10.000. If the cost estimate exceeds $10,000 you would be responsible for anything over and above the $10,000. The home has to be located in our target area, and your prospective tenant would also have to qualify you by falling within the income guidelines and having a child no older than 5.
Please see our Probate Case Search page. For either public access or attorney inquiry, use the appropriate link.